Cache Valley Media Group announces boys basketball All-Region 11 team, coach and player awards – Cache Valley Daily

Ridgeline High School basketball coach Kyle Day cuts down the nets after his team wins Region 11. Photo by Tina Lerohl

LOGAN – The 2021-22 boys basketball season featured high-level basketball and multiple teams performing well all year. It was a rebuilding year for some teams and others featured new coaches. Not only did this season of boys basketball feature live play-by-play on six local radio stations, but also featured live video of the games broadcast here on Cache Valley Daily for the first time ever. The broadcasts provided an opportunity for fans, friends and family to view the games from afar, check in on multiple games happening simultaneously and the ability to re-watch games after they concluded.

For the second year in a row the staff of the Cache Valley Media Group chose Ridgeline’s Kyle Day as Region 11 Coach of the Year. The Riverhawks finished as Region 11 champions with an 8-1 region record and as the 3rd ranked team in 4A at the conclusion of the season, finishing the year with an 18-6 overall record.

Ridgeline Riverhawks’ Kaden Cox dribbles the ball in a game against Sky View. Photo by Clint Allen.

Ridgeline’s Kaden Cox was also selected as the Region 11 Player of the Year (a similar honor he received in football). Cox finished the season with the third highest scoring average in 4A (averaging 15.6 points/game), finished as the top 3-point shooter in the state (averaging 2.8 made 3 pointers/game), was fifth in assists (2.6 assists/game), averaged 2.9 rebounds/game and 0.79 steals/game.

The Cache Valley Media Group sports panel is comprised of those who called the play-by-play of the Region 11 basketball teams throughout the entire season on six different radio stations, including “Hurricane” John Newbold on 106.9 The FAN, Craig Hislop and Terrell Baldwin on 100.9 Lite FM, Al Lewis on KVNU 610 AM / 102.1 FM, Rod Zundel on 104.9 The Ranch, Dave Simmons and “The Patriot” Nick Zollinger on 104.5 The Ranch, and AJ Knight and John Olsen on 107.7 KLZX.

Region 11 Coach of the Year
Kyle Day – Ridgeline Riverhawks

Region 11 Player of the Year
Kaden Cox – Ridgeline Riverhawks

Region 11 First Team
Brady Smith – Green Canyon Wolves
Kaden Cox – Ridgeline Riverhawks
Logan Deal – Sky View Bobcats
Spencer Maughan – Green Canyon Wolves
Peyton Knowles – Ridgeline Riverhawks

Region 11 Second Team
Preston Lofthouse – Mountain Crest Mustangs
Hayden Howell – Sky View Bobcats
Carter Davis – Sky View Bobcats
Gherig Marble – Bear River Bears
Josh Jackman – Ridgeline Riverhawks

Region 11 Honorable Mention
Sky View – Tanner Davis, Braden Alder
Green Canyon – Jared Anderson
Logan – Will Jensen, Gage Jenson
Bear River – Caleb Barfuss, Dax Sorenson, Kyver Jensen
Ridgeline – Josh Jackman, Jake Smith
Mountain Crest – Oliver Nethercott

Source link

Share This Article



Related Articles